(this is her dominant personality type)



(she also shows elements of this type)


52 | Washington, District of Columbia

Passionate, creative Francophile, translator and writer looking for intellectual mate

Her 10 interests

« »



Dining out





Performing arts


Wine tasting

in her own words...

I love the beach on a breezy summer day, love to sail and swim just about anywhere (except where there are sharks). I'm a linguist and a translator and occasional French professor by trade. I have simple tastes: am humorous, warm-hearted, family-oriented and intellectually curious and seek the same. Lived about 3 years in France. Very interested in foreign cultures, anthropology and social structure. I'm a creative person who writes and reads a good deal. Working on a short story. Read and teach news analysis in English and French, especially of Europe and Africa. Also teach French literature, and am particularly fond of the existentialists (Sartre, Camus) and contemporary French novelists like Ernaux, Duras. Though I have erudite pursuits, I want nothing more than an uncomplicated relationship with a real guy. Secretly wish for a tiny place (perhaps in France) by the sea to write and read and romp freely. Love 19th and 20th century European, American and older African art, especially sculpture and painting: Modigliani, Rodin, Giacommeti. I'm looking for an intellectual mate, not a traditional (old-fashioned) husband-wife situation necessarily, though newfangled marriage could be great if the vibe is right. I value comedy, irony, humility, sensitivity, perceptivity and creativity above all -- love indie/foreign film, theater, music (folk, jazz, blues, classical, rock), satire and good humor. Hopefully, you have passion about something in your life, as I do. I also love spending time with friends and family, including my adorable and hilarious nieces and nephew (from 3 to 6 years old). They kill me...and keep me young. Ultimately, I would like to share friends, family and artistic passion with someone who is intelligent, funny, caring, sure of himself -- but not too sure -- and sensitive to his life and the people in it.

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.

By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of

About her:

  • Living situation:
    • Not Answered
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Christian / Protestant
  • Relationship history:
    • Single (never been married)
  • Income:
    • Not Answered
  • Eye color:
    • Brown
  • Hair color:
    • Dark brown
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian

What she's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 42 - 58
  • relationship history:
    • Any
  • smokes:
    • Any
  • Ethnic background:
    • American Indian or Alaska Native
    • Asian
    • Black or African American
    • Hispanic/Latino or Spanish origin
    • Middle Eastern
    • Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander
    • White/Caucasian
    • Other
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Agnostic
    • Atheist
    • Buddhist / Taoist
    • Christian / Catholic
    • Christian / Protestant
    • Christian / LDS
    • Christian / Other
    • Hindu
    • Jewish
    • Muslim / Islam
    • Spiritual but not religious
    • Other
  • education:
    • Graduate or professional degree