(this is his dominant personality type)



(he also shows elements of this type)


54 | Washington, District of Columbia

Friend? Friend and partner? Me? Dry, energetic, complex, introspective, extroverted city guy, oaky and some fruit notes

He sees the big picture and can easily take the broad, long view of almost any topic. And he also has an adventurous side.

He enjoys new ideas and novel experiences which he wants to share with an enthusiastic partner.

He particularly enjoys people who like to play with abstract theories and ideas, provide insights, search for symbolic meanings in life and relationships and have a broad interest in the world.

A few excerpts from his personality test:

  • On my time off, I like to be free to do whatever looks fun
  • I have more energy than most people
  • Taking care of my possessions is a high priority for me

find out your type »

His 17 interests

« »




Dining out






Performing arts

Playing cards

Playing Sports






in his own words...

I take dating seriously and I don't get into romantic relationships casually. I want romance, sensuality and all the rest, but not at the expense of laying the groundwork for deep friendship and commitment. I was married a long time and I have spent a lot of time and effort un-marying. I work well with my children's mother. At the same time, although I grew up in Bethesda, I only recently returned to DC so I am looking for local friends who have time for simple friendship, keeping in touch, have dinner, hiking, kayaking, sailing, going dancing or to concerts, talking...... I value every person I meet or date. My daughter (11) and son (14) are a focus right now but I have a lot of energy for both friendship and romance. I just started a new job and I don't have any vacation time built up so I won't be doing a lot of travel this year. Dating is new to me. It works best for me if you live or work in DC or fairly close in. I prefer meeting in person but the phone works too. Email and chat do not work for me in this realm. I date with an open mind and I am happy to explore friendships and relationships over time. At the same time, I won't string you along if you want to answer the partner question. I don't want a quick fix and would rather be single than indulge in half-hearted relationships or a string of hot romances that cool off just as quickly. I will be getting my 17' Oday Day Sailor down from Vermont and getting out and sailing this summer. I plan on going canoeing or kayaking further upstream on the Potomac as well. I do plan to spend a week of my vacation time volunteering as a counselor for adolescent boys at a camp in the Shenandoah. I did this last year and want to see my crew 'graduate'. This winter I hope to get some skiing in, telemark downhill or back country out in West Virginia at Canaan Valley and White Grass. Over the last 6 months, I have lived for Contra dancing. I even dragged my kids to join me at a dance camp weekend. Th

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.

By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of

About him:

  • Living situation:
    • Live alone
    • Live with kids
    • Live with pets
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Christian / Catholic
  • Relationship history:
    • Divorced
  • Income:
    • I'd prefer to share this information with my matches later.
  • Eye color:
    • Hazel
  • Hair color:
    • Dark brown
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian

What he's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 43 - 53
  • relationship history:
    • Divorced
  • smokes:
    • Not at all
  • Ethnic background:
    • Any
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Agnostic
    • Atheist
    • Buddhist / Taoist
    • Christian / Catholic
    • Christian / Protestant
    • Christian / Other
    • Hindu
    • Jewish
    • Muslim / Islam
    • Spiritual but not religious
    • Other
  • education:
    • Bachelors degree
    • Graduate or professional degree
    • PhD / Post Doctoral