(this is his dominant personality type)



(he also shows elements of this type)


50 | Washington, District of Columbia

The Mindful Way

He is a tough-minded, independent thinker who likes to explore ideas or problems thoroughly. Yet he has a wild side and is not interested in maintaining routine social engagements either.

He gravitates to men and women who are intellectually exciting and like to discuss topics broadly and thoroughly.

He tends to like someone who is spontaneous, even mischievous, as well as a mate who can appreciate his rugged individualism and support of his drive to succeed.

A few excerpts from his personality test:

  • I have a wide range of interests
  • I like to get to know my friends' deepest needs and feelings
  • I am very empathetic

find out your type »

His 12 interests

« »



Dining out




Performing arts




Wine tasting


in his own words...

Instead of a quirky, charming, perhaps glib description of me and what I am searching for in someone else, I think it would be better to just state plainly and honestly those qualities I value in myself and others. I value: compassion, equanimity, a clear sense of self, intelligence (of course), mindfulness, and bias toward optimism, with a healthy dose of a sense of humor. Loyalty is very important to me, so if you have an avoidant relationship style, please look elsewhere. Curiosity is up there too, as is pride in appearance - without being vain. Fitness -emotional, intellectual and physical - is very important to me. In my twenties and thirties, my appetite for risk and thrill seeking was much greater. I competed on an amateur cycling team (racing on a track bike with no brakes on a velodrome was thrilling), rock climbed and mountain climbed in South American and the U.S. Becoming a father - and its time constraints- changed that. Now I prefer an intense workout at the gym, meditation and yoga, with the occasional mountain bike ride. I really appreciate a growth mindset. When someone presents a challenge or a novel experience to me, I challenge myself in turn to accept it instead of wondering if I will look less than intelligent or do a less than excellent job. It is an opportunity to learn, even if I make a mistake. I am an Army brat and I have lived abroad and in many places in the U.S. When I came to DC, I measured my perceptions against that experience. I really didn't like DC at first, but I have come to really enjoy my time here because of the relationships I have made. Nowhere else have I lived, have I found so many interesting, highly educated people from so many parts of the world. So if you would like to exchange some pleasant banter and compare experiences over coffee or a drink, I look forward to meeting you.

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.

By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of

About him:

  • Living situation:
    • Live with kids
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • Relationship history:
    • Divorced
  • Income:
    • $50,001 to $100,000
  • Eye color:
    • Blue
  • Hair color:
    • Light brown
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian

What he's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 40 - 50
  • relationship history:
    • Any
  • smokes:
    • Not at all
  • Ethnic background:
    • American Indian or Alaska Native
    • Asian
    • Hispanic/Latino or Spanish origin
    • Middle Eastern
    • Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander
    • White/Caucasian
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Agnostic
    • Atheist
    • Buddhist / Taoist
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • education:
    • Bachelors degree
    • Graduate or professional degree
    • PhD / Post Doctoral