(this is his dominant personality type)



(he also shows elements of this type)


50 | Washington, District of Columbia

"...Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” --Howard Thurman

He sees the big picture and can easily take the broad, long view of almost any topic. And he also has an adventurous side.

He enjoys new ideas and novel experiences which he wants to share with an enthusiastic partner.

He particularly enjoys people who like to play with abstract theories and ideas, provide insights, search for symbolic meanings in life and relationships and have a broad interest in the world.

A few excerpts from his personality test:

  • I like to get to know my friends' deepest needs and feelings
  • I am more analytical and logical than most people
  • I highly value deep emotional intimacy in my relationships

find out your type »

His 13 interests

« »



Dining out




Playing Sports





Watching sports

Wine tasting

in his own words...

I have been lucky to live in many different places, including cities in my home state of North Carolina, Oregon, El Salvador, and, for the past decade, Adams Morgan in DC. I've been a long time advocate for at-risk kids, and am currently working as a child, adolescent, and family therapist in Columbia, MD. I'm compiling a list of things kids say to me, such as "why do we wear underwear?" and "there's a hamster in our freezer". It gets more odd from here... The tougher the kid, the better. I'm as extroverted as they come, though I cherish alone time. I find working out at the gym helpful in shedding the days frustrations and centering myself. The punching bag becomes my boss or the parent who lets their 8 year olds watch "R" rated movies. Gotta move that energy out. I'm a night owl with a southern accent and abide by Malbec wines. i know my way around a kitchen, and love to cook for others. The hotter the dish, the better. I love the big questions in life and consider myself, as did Walt Whitman, "a cosmos". i'm two months away from donating my hair to locks of love, and they'll have to work around a bit of gray hair again. i've earned that gray! I'm a southerner with west coast sensibilities. I think that the occupy movement is a hopeful thing. I volunteered heavily for Obama in '08, but want more change for the 99%. I have a tough time deciding what to order in restaurants. I'm not so good at matching clothes. I can't live without Washington Nationals baseball and wish that I hadn't played rugby in college. Loved the game, hated the stitches. I laugh a lot. So does the Dali Lama. I reckon I'm in good company. I've never once used acronyms in texts or emails. I'd like to publish a children's book. I hate the winter, though I love to see snow. I come most alive when I'm connecting meaningfully with someone, and believe that the world gets turned around just this way.

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.

By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of

About him:

  • Living situation:
    • Live alone
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • Relationship history:
    • Single (never been married)
  • Income:
    • I'd prefer to share this information with my matches later.
  • Eye color:
    • Brown
  • Hair color:
    • Dark brown
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian
    • Other

What he's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 30 - 45
  • relationship history:
    • Any
  • smokes:
    • A few times a week
  • Ethnic background:
    • American Indian or Alaska Native
    • Hispanic/Latino or Spanish origin
    • Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander
    • White/Caucasian
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Buddhist / Taoist
    • Christian / Catholic
    • Christian / Protestant
    • Christian / Other
    • Hindu
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • education:
    • Bachelors degree
    • Graduate or professional degree
    • PhD / Post Doctoral