(this is his dominant personality type)



(he also shows elements of this type)


42 | Washington, District of Columbia

What's the sound of one hand clapping?

He is very curious and loves adventure, either or both intellectual and physical. When he gets interested in something, he can become extremely focused on it.

People tend to admire him for his knowledge and innovativeness. He derives intimacy from doing things with friends or a partner.

He is drawn to those who can balance his highly independent and tough-minded spirit--those who are novelty seeking, yet compassionate, verbal, intuitive, trusting, flexible and emotionally expressive.

A few excerpts from his personality test:

  • I pursue intellectual topics thoroughly and regularly
  • I have a wide range of interests
  • When reading, I enjoy it when the writer takes a sidetrack to say something beautiful or meaningful

find out your type »

His 13 interests

« »



Dining out





Performing arts

Playing Sports



Watching sports

Wine tasting

in his own words...

I'm an economist, and just coming out of a very long, tumultuous relationship with my dissertation advisor. In the end he gave me the PhD, but I feel I sacrificed a bit too much, namely World Cup. I'm trying to get back to basics now, like reading narratives and catching up on old episodes of Jersey Shore. I'm not at all sure I have any business in academia, at least not the research track, but I enjoy teaching currently. My favorite students are the slackers. I prefer to relate to people on a more casual level, one of mutual respect. As we all know, that is not the way of academia. So I might be moving into consulting, or maybe I'll start a small business, and then write the follow up to "Shop Class as Soul Craft". I've been in DC now for about a decade, so I have a pretty good handle on all the things that make DC suck. Sorry, I prefer Baltimore, it's the real version. DC has its charms though. I love the architecture, the neighborhoods, and biking all over the place, and yeah, I'm a little obsessed with politics but trying to get over it. One day I'll leave DC and come back as a visitor, in October of course. I'd like to live in a 100 places: New York, Budapest, Melbourne, Maine, Brazil. I lived in Sweden for a while, and it really changed my life. I'd say traveling is generally a better education than schooling. The woman I'm looking for is probably a little nuts, fairly independent, and yet caring and compassionate. She knows what she likes and what she dislikes, in a way that upends what I think I like and dislike. She has an innate and strong sense of justice, and she has a great sense of humor. She's tolerant and open-minded, adventurous and yet grounded. She's probably some mix of liberal and conservative, and wants nothing to do with politicians or politics. She's gorgeous and stylish, and creative and ultimately happy with the world she creates. If you have any of these qualities, I'd like to get to know you, at least as a friend.

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.

By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of

About him:

  • Living situation:
    • Live with roommate(s)
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Christian / Other
  • Relationship history:
    • Single (never been married)
  • Income:
    • I'd prefer to share this information with my matches later.
  • Eye color:
    • Blue
  • Hair color:
    • Dark brown
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian

What he's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 25 - 35
  • relationship history:
    • Any
  • smokes:
    • Not at all
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Any
  • education:
    • Some college
    • Bachelors degree
    • Graduate or professional degree
    • PhD / Post Doctoral