PRIMARY

EXPLORER

(this is his dominant personality type)

SECONDARY

Director

(he also shows elements of this type)

Ed

45 | Washington, District of Columbia

Painter seeks muse to keep it real

He is very curious and loves adventure, either or both intellectual and physical. When he gets interested in something, he can become extremely focused on it.

People tend to admire him for his knowledge and innovativeness. He derives intimacy from doing things with friends or a partner.

He is drawn to those who can balance his highly independent and tough-minded spirit--those who are novelty seeking, yet compassionate, verbal, intuitive, trusting, flexible and emotionally expressive.

A few excerpts from his personality test:

  • When I wake up from a vivid dream, it takes me a few seconds to return to reality
  • I tend to be cautious, but not fearful
  • I think it is important to be direct

find out your type »

His 11 interests

« »

Camping

Cooking

Movies/Videos

Museums

Music

Performing arts

Playing Sports

Politics

Travel

Volunteering

Watching sports

in his own words...

I am an easy-going yet somewhat intense artist/athlete/yogi/foodie/cook/wino/triathlete/Spanish speaker/music lover (jazz, classical, rock, world, salsa)/tennis player/mountaineer/family guy/dog owner who paints landscapes, portraits, and figures in oil on canvas for a living. Galleries in DC, New Orleans, and New York State represent me. I seek a woman who accepts (or encourages?!) my need to paint and who won't get discouraged if a month or two pass without a sale. I actually do okay, but the recession has been challenging. I was a high school history teacher for ten years. I also taught sections of English and Spanish and coached tennis during those years, but I shifted to painting full time two years ago. I am amicably separated from my wife of seven years, mostly because she decided she didn't want to have kids. Becoming a dad is a big priority for me, but it doesn't need to happen right away. For the time being I'd like to find a good woman who enjoys making healthy meals and drinking good wine and walking in the park with the dog. When in DC, I like Sundays with WPFW as the soundtrack. I'm definitely a liberal environmentalist who cares about indigenous cultures. I'd like my woman to share those basic values. I can get along with Republicans, but not really. Favorite recent films have been Vicky Christina Barcelona, Midnight in Paris, Biutiful, Avatar, No Country for Old Men, anything by Almodovar, and documentaries. I read maybe fifteen books a year and appreciate women who read and have opinions.

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from Chemistry.com. I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.


By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of
Use
.

About him:

  • Living situation:
    • Live with pets
    • Live with roommate(s)
    • Family and friends visit often
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • Relationship history:
    • Separated
  • Income:
    • $25,001 to $50,000
  • Eye color:
    • Blue
  • Hair color:
    • Dark blonde
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian

What he's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 29 - 39
  • relationship history:
    • Any
  • smokes:
    • Not at all
  • Ethnic background:
    • Any
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Agnostic
    • Atheist
    • Buddhist / Taoist
    • Christian / Catholic
    • Christian / Protestant
    • Hindu
    • Not Religious
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • education:
    • Bachelors degree
    • Graduate or professional degree
    • PhD / Post Doctoral