(this is his dominant personality type)



(he also shows elements of this type)


55 | San Francisco, California

Nothing ventured, nothing gained - Sober, Sane and Available for LTR and Dating.

He is interested in the big picture and likes to examine large, ambiguous issues and ideas.

In relating to others, he can be well-adjusted, trusting, compassionate, intuitive and interested in people.

He is a die-hard romantic, and must have depth and meaning in his relationships.

A few excerpts from his personality test:

  • When reading, I enjoy it when the writer takes a sidetrack to say something beautiful or meaningful
  • My friends would say I am very curious
  • After watching an emotional film, I often still feel moved by it several hours later

find out your type »

His 16 interests

« »



Dining out






Performing arts

Playing cards

Playing Sports





Watching sports

in his own words...

Just turned 50 this year and after some encouragment a friend who met his long-term partner on, thought I'd give this a go... You've got the basics (or at least the ones they ask about here). I'm a nice-looking, in-shape, sober guy who has been HIV (w/out issues) since 1985. Nice guy, good sense of humor, sensative, and fairly secure. I lead a pretty quiet and happy life for the most part. I'm loved and well-supported by my family, have a great group of friends, and an amazing network of sober-folk who support my recovery. I'm healthy, fit, and work actively toward emotional and spiritual stabillity. I have lots to be grateful for, yet much more give and receive in life. In a perfect world, I would love to find someone with whom I can share and experience the 'next 50'; someone who challenges me with his own ideas, values and interests... and who finds ways to encourage and support me in the same. Life is tough enough without trying to manage the whole thing solo. Guess I'm looking for that soulmate/helpmate/witness to a life that I hope to conclude one day 'well-lived'. I'm open to lots of new experiences and people and don't have any unreasonable expectations of the process here. I'm totally prepared for many fits and false starts... this kind of dating is NOT my strong suit. I'm much better with a face-to-face meeting and the slow get-to-know you process that happens from regular contact over shared interests or ocassions: yours and mine. Wouldn't expect this to happen overnight so I signed up for the 6 month ( 6 Free Guarantee Plan) just in case. I'm pretty democratic in my affections and don't have a 'type' per se. So long as all of your various bits and pieces come together in a generally pleasing package (with nothing flapping in the breeze)... and you're genuinely honest, intelligent, and kind-spirited we're likely to get along. Guess we can cover the rest when I hear from you.

Take the personality test everyone is talking about.

I am a

Seeking a

By clicking "find chemistry now", I agree to receive transactional and promotional emails from I understand that I am free to withdraw consent at any time.

By using our site, you agree to Chemistry's Terms of

About him:

  • Living situation:
    • Live with pets
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Spiritual but not religious
  • Relationship history:
    • Single (never been married)
  • Income:
    • $50,001 to $100,000
  • Eye color:
    • Green
  • Hair color:
    • Salt and pepper
  • Ethnic background:
    • White/Caucasian

What he's looking for:

  • Age Range:
    • 45 - 55
  • relationship history:
    • Single (never been married)
    • Divorced
    • Widowed
  • smokes:
    • Not at all
    • Every once in a while
    • A few times a week
  • Ethnic background:
    • Any
  • Religious affiliation:
    • Agnostic
    • Atheist
    • Buddhist / Taoist
    • Christian / Catholic
    • Christian / Protestant
    • Christian / LDS
    • Christian / Other
    • Hindu
    • Jewish
    • Muslim / Islam
    • Spiritual but not religious
    • Other
  • education:
    • Some college
    • Associates / Technical degree
    • Bachelors degree
    • Graduate or professional degree
    • PhD / Post Doctoral